This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Burkina Faso

Burkina Faso is made up of 13 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Burkina Faso. Information on all primary administrative regions in Burkina Faso.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Burkina Faso alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Burkina Faso

There are 13 regions in Burkina Faso in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Burkina Faso
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Boucle du Mouhoun Boucle du Mouhoun Region1.1,434,847Dedougou Dédougou45,341
Cascades Cascades Region2.524,956Banfora Banfora60,288
Centre Centre3.2,136,581Ouagadougou Ouagadougou1,086,505
Centre-Est Centre-Est4.1,132,023Tenkodogo Tenkodogo37,658
Centre-Nord Centre-Nord5.1,203,073Kaya Kaya39,229
Centre-Ouest Centre-Ouest6.1,348,784Koudougou Koudougou87,347
Centre-Sud Centre-Sud7.722,631Manga Manga15,173
Est Est8.1,209,399Fada N'gourma Fada N'gourma33,910
High-Basins High-Basins Region9.1,410,284Bobo-Dioulasso Bobo-Dioulasso360,106
Nord Nord10.1,182,770Ouahigouya Ouahigouya61,096
Plateau-Central Plateau-Central11.696,372Ziniare Ziniaré12,703
Sahel Sahel12.968,442Dori Dori37,806
Southwest Southwest Region13.624,056Gaoua Gaoua25,104